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INTRODUCTION

The gold continues to add wealth to your city, wealth 
that can be used to invest in the arts, music and new 
buildings.

The citizens of Rolldovia are finding new ways to get 
around your city, and in turn making it a more thriving 
community, with taverns and guilds sprouting up 
everywhere to support their needs.

Which way will your city turn 
next? It is fair to say you have 
reached a  Crossroads…

But which is the right way to 
once more roll, build, and win?
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COMPONENTS
Crossroads  includes 4 new locations of each type, plus 
the Gold Mine, a Commodity location introduced in the 
All That Glitters  expansion. 

There are 48 location cards, and 12 Commodity location cards.
This expansion also comes with 12 gold tokens for use during 
the game, and additional victory point (VP) and Deactivation 
tokens.

A Commodity location
is denoted by a
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NEW RULES
Gold Mines bring a new currency in the game; gold. Gold is 
a commodity. It can be traded at any time during your turn 
for any resource of your choice. It is effectively a wildcard for 
resources, although it is not a resource itself.
Gold generally follows the same rules as resources.
•	 	It is set up as a separate pile at the start of the game.
•	 	You may keep it in your stock, but lose any excess above 

one at the end of your turn.
•	 	Other players may raid it during the Attack Step. However, 

it requires an army strength of 3 to do so.
•	 	It is generally used to pay costs on locations / to build locations. 

However, there are three key differences:
•	 Cards that affect Resource (          ) locations or Harvest loca-

tions do not affect Gold Mines.
•	 Gold cannot be used to pay a cost when a cost asks for a 

resource to be paid. It also does not count as a resource for 
any card that references resources.

•	 There is a limited supply of gold tokens. When used, these 
tokens are not returned to the supply, but put back in your box. 
Once all gold tokens have been used the game end is triggered.

Set up
 Gold Mines
In addition to separating the Lumber Mill, Quarry, Mine, and Reg-
ular Army cards into four individual stacks, add a fifth stack for all 
the Gold Mine cards. These will be available throughout the game.
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 Gold Tokens
If you are playing with just the Crossroads expansion and 
the base game, add a number of gold tokens to the supply 

based on the number of players, 
10 for a 2-player game, 12 in a 
3-player or 4-player game.
If you are playing with the base 

game and all of the ex-
pansions, add 12 tokens 
for a 2-player game, 15 
for a 3-player game, and 
16 for a 4-player game.

Dice Step
Deactivation Clarification – The Courthouse (see page 10) 
can deactivate a location that has already been deactivated 
by its own text. The base set rulebook states that you can use 
a die to reactivate a deactivated location. This is a clarification 
that reactivating a location means removing a single deacti-
vation token from it, not removing all tokens. So to fully reac-
tivate a location with two tokens on it would require two dice.

Columns
You will see a number of locations in this set refer to columns. 
Columns are the vertical lines on the city board that all share 
the same dice number. The use of columns does 
not affect adjacency. “Adjacent” locations are still 
only the locations to the left or right of the pri-
mary location, not those above or below on the 
same column.
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Random
Separate the 
locations of the 
base set and the 
expansion(s) by type  
(civic       , cultural       , 
economic       , 
military        ).  
Shuffle the cards of 
each type together 
and take 15 at 
random. Shuffle those 
60 cards together 
to form the location 
deck to be used 
during the game.

Full Set
Choose 5 
random 
different 
locations of 
each type,   
add all 3 
copies of them 
in the location 
deck, and 
then shuffle 
the deck.

Quick Play
Shuffle the 
locations of the 
base set and 
the expansion(s) 
together and 
simply play as 
normal. When 
you remove a 
die to refresh 
locations in 
the display, you 
may refresh 
any number of 
locations from 
4 to 8. For a more 

balanced game, 
we recommend 

the ‘Full Set’ 
or ‘Random’ 

set ups.

Adding your locations from this  
expansion to your games of Dice City
All the locations from Crossroads can be integrated with 
your other Dice City location cards. There are 3 different ways:

In addition to this we have added some suggested set ups 
that showcase different aspects of the game using all of the 
expansions released so far:
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	 “Power and	  “Tricks and	  “Wealth and
	 Learning”	 Treats”	 Wonders”

 	 Mint	 Bazaar	 Bazaar
 	 Merchant Guild	 Market Place	 Goldsmith
 	 Master Builder	 Storehouse	 Warehouse
 	 Warehouse	 Goldsmith	 Bank
 	 Trade Post	 Harbor	 Crafts Guild

 	 Barracks	 Blacksmith	 Barracks
 	 Training Camp	 Catapult	 Training Camp
 	 Armory	 Watchtower	 Mercenaries
 	 Conscription Hall	 Prison	 Garrison
 	 Military Academy	 Garrison	 Palace Guards

 	 Cathedral	 Festival Hall	 Great Wall
 	 Festival Hall	 Manor	 Manor
 	 Grand Statue	 Library	 Monument
 	 Gardens	 Palace	 Palace
 	 University	 Lighthouse	 Conservatory

 	 Cemetery	 Well	 Church
 	 Stables	 Hospital	 Well
 	 Town Hall	 Courthouse	 Governor’s House
 	 Central Square	 Tavern	 Tavern
 	 Main Street	 Treasury	 Treasury
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Choose two of each card from 
Crossroads , and one of each
card from Dice City  base set,

and All that Glitters . 
Use this as your location deck.

For those players 
that want to use 
all of the available 
cards we suggest 
the “Epic” set up.
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Bank
If another player attacks my Bank, what 
happens to the Gold tokens on the card? 
They remain where they are. If you reactivate the 
location, you can continue using it as normal, 
without losing any of them.

Crafts Guild
If I have just one other location in the same 
column, how many resources can I get?
You can only get a single resource, out of those 
in the cost of that location.

Garrison
If I use a Blacksmith, and then a Garrison 
with a Regular Army adjacent to it, how much 
army will I be getting?
Blacksmith makes all Army cards give you 
1 additional strength when used. Since 
you use both the Garrison and the Regu-
lar Army adjacent to it, they both give 1 
additional strength. The final total Army 
strength would be 5 (2 from the Garri-
son and 3 from the Regular Army).

o  FAQ  o   FAQ  o   FAQ  o   FAQ  o   FAQ  o   FAQ  o   FAQ  o   FAQ  o   FAQ  o   FAQ  o  o   FAQ  o 
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o  FAQ  o   FAQ  o   FAQ  o   FAQ  o   FAQ  o   FAQ  o   FAQ  o   FAQ  o   FAQ  o   FAQ  o  o   FAQ  o 

Conservatory
One of my locations has a             token on it 
from the Conservatory. If I use a Town Hall 
or a Main Street to use its ability, do I get the 
token? 
Yes, you do. The token is given when the 
ability is used. Since the Town Hall and 
the Main Street allow you to use the 
ability of that location, you also take the 
token.

One of my locations has a             token on it from the 
Conservatory. A die lands on it but I use another die to 
move it to an adjacent location. Do I get the token?
No, you don’t. You have to use the ability of the card that has 
the             token in order to get it.

One of my cultural locations that doesn't provide VP 
with its ability has a              token. If I activate a 
Library (from All That Glitters) first, when I use 
that location to gain the             token, will I get 
3 additional VP? 

No. The Library only works when you use a loca-
tion’s ability to gain VP. This point come from the 
token.
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o  FAQ  o   FAQ  o   FAQ  o   FAQ  o   FAQ  o   FAQ  o   FAQ  o   FAQ  o   FAQ  o   FAQ  o  o   FAQ  o 

If I place a             token on an ONGOING location, what 
happens?
In order to get that VP token you will have to land on that lo-
cation and discard your die to “perform its ability”. Due to the 
abilities being ongoing there won’t be any additional effects 
- you will just get that VP token.

Courthouse
Can I select one location and use it twice?
No, you have to select 2 different locations.

In what order do I use the abilities of the  
2 locations I choose?
In any order you like. However, you have to use one after the 
other. You can’t use the ability of the first location, perform 
another action with another die, and then use the ability of 
the second location.

What happens if I choose a location that gets deactivated 
as part of its ability? 
When using the location’s ability you put a deactivation token on 
it. Then, as per the Courthouse requirements, you deactivate the 
location again, placing another deactivation token on it.

Can I choose a deactivated location with the Courthouse?
No. You may only choose active locations.
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o  FAQ  o   FAQ  o   FAQ  o   FAQ  o   FAQ  o   FAQ  o   FAQ  o   FAQ  o   FAQ  o   FAQ  o  o   FAQ  o 

Treasury
Can I choose one of the 8 locations that are 
available in the display?
No, you have to choose a location from the deck. 

Can I place the location I get on a space with a die on it, 
reactivate it with another die and then use its ability, all 
in the same turn?
Yes, you can.
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