
In Tiny Towns: Villagers™, word has 
spread far and wide of a thriving little 
civilization in the forest. Creatures 
with incredible talents—from engineers 
to merchants—have come to visit 
these towns and decide where they will 
make their new homes. They offer the 
most astute town mayors their skills, 
which can transform buildings, control 
the influx of resources, and perform 
impressive architectural feats. The world 
of Tiny Towns is getting a bit bigger!

contents
• 1 rulebook
• 6 Lodge boards
• 20 villager meeples
• 18 Building cards
• 5 Monument cards
• 7 Villager cards

an expansion for tiny towns™  
by peter mcpherson and josh wood, 
for 1 to 6 players, ages 14 and up

Setup
1. Give each player a Lodge board, which they should place beside their player board from the base game.

2. Give each player 3 villager meeples. (It does not matter what animal they represent.) 

3. Players should place each villager meeple in a different corner square of their player board.

4. Sort the new Building and Monument cards by the symbols on the back and shuffle them into the setup 
piles of cards from the base game.

5. Separate the Villager cards that have a cost of 1 from the cards that have a cost of 2 or more. Shuffle the 2 
piles face-down. Draw 1 card from each pile and place the 2 cards face-up in the middle of the table so 
that all players can see them. (Note: Do not use the card titled Solicit unless you are also playing with the 
Tiny Towns: Fortune™ expansion.)

6. Place the remaining Villager cards back into the box—they will not be used for this game.

7. Follow the normal Tiny Towns™ setup rules. 
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villager examples

Laura has a villager 
where she hopes to 
construct a cottage.

This time, constructing a 
cottage on the same square 
as the villager would not be 
a great move for Laura.

The Master Builder 
names wheat—she’s 
ready to make a cottage.

She gets the glass she 
needs for the cottage.

BLAM! She makes a cottage on the same 
square as the villager. Now the villager is 
working in that cottage and can be used 
to activate abilities.

After she is done constructing, 
her villager does not move 
because it is not in the same 
square as a resource cube.

Overview
In Tiny Towns: Villagers™, the Villager cards detail the 
special abilities that villagers offer to players to maximize 
their scores.  However, to activate those abilities, villagers 
must be working in buildings on a player’s board. 

villager placement and 
movement 
A villager cannot occupy the same square as a resource 
at the end of a round.When a player places a resource on 
the same square as a villager, 3 situations can occur:

1. If the resource is not used to construct a building that 
round, the villager must move at the end of the round 
to an orthogonally adjacent empty square. If there is no 
such empty square, the villager is placed on the player’s 
Lodge board.

2. If the resource is used to construct a building, but the 
player chooses to place that building on a different square 
from the villager, then that villager does not move.

3. If the resource is used to construct a building, and the 
player chooses to place that building on the same square 
as the villager, then the villager and the building occupy 
the same square. That villager is now working in that 
building and can be used for activating abilities.

Thus, players should strategize to place or move villagers 
onto squares that they think will be both the square that 
holds the final resource needed for a building layout and 
the square where they will choose to place the building. 

Following the end of each round, in the Cleanup phase, 
players must take all villagers on their Lodge board and 
place each of them in an empty square on their player 
board. If there are not enough empty squares, players 
should place as many villagers as possible and keep the 
rest on their Lodge board. 

activating villager abilities 
Each special ability has a cost of 1, 2, or 3 villagers, as 
indicated on the Villager card. 

To activate an ability, a player must remove a 
corresponding number of villagers working in buildings 
on their player board. Those villagers are then placed on 
the player’s Lodge board. 

An ability may be activated at any time following the 
placement of the resource that round, unless the Villager 
card states otherwise.

Players may activate any number of abilities per turn 
and may activate the same ability more than once, if 
they can pay the costs. However, a player cannot activate 
more than 1 ability (or the same ability more than once) 
in constructing a single building. Each ability and its 
effect on a building’s construction must be fully resolved 
before activating another ability.

visiting villagers
Squares that contain villagers but no buildings are 
considered to be empty for the purposes of building 
abilities (such as Citadel, Forge, and Travelers’ Center) or 
villager abilities (such as Forage).

notes
• A villager must always be placed in or 

move to an empty square.

• A villager cannot occupy the same square 
as another villager. 

• Villagers can work in monuments.

• If a player must move more than 1 vil-
lager at the end of the round, the player 
chooses in which order to move them.

• Villagers can only work in buildings con-
structed using resources. Any buildings 
placed on squares with villagers through 
monument, building, or villager abilities 
cause villagers to move as normal at the end 
of the round to an orthogonally adjacent 
empty square or to a player’s Lodge board. 

• Resources that are placed on buildings 
such as Warehouse do not cause villagers 
working in buildings to move.

2



Round Overview
1. The Master Builder names a type of resource.

2. All players must take this resource and place it in an empty square 
or square containing a villager in their town grid OR activate a 
villager ability that prevents them from placing this resource.

3. Players may construct any buildings for which they have the 
matching resources in the correct shape.

4. Once all players have placed their resources, constructed buildings, 
and activated any villager abilities, the round has ended.

5. Any villagers that occupy the same square as a resource cube must 
move to an adjacent empty square, if possible. Otherwise, they are 
placed on the player’s Lodge board. 

6. Cleanup: Each villager on a player’s Lodge board must be placed 
in an empty square in the player’s town grid, if possible.

7. A new round begins. The Master Builder token passes to the 
player on the left. 

Scoring and Game End
The game ends per normal Tiny Towns™ rules. Squares that contain villagers but  
no buildings are considered to be empty for the purpose of scoring.  Town Hall rules 
work as normal when playing Tiny Towns: Villagers™. The Solo variant rules work  
as normal when playing Tiny Towns: Villagers™, but the Folly Tower   card should 
be removed.

Villager Clarifications
Cooperate: In constructing 
a building, you may remove 
resources from any square on 
your board. The building must 

be constructed on 1 of these squares.

Cut Corners: You may not 
construct the building on the 
square in the layout of the 
missing resource.

Forage: This resource is not 
considered to be named by a 
Master Builder and therefore 
you may not trigger any 

abilities that refer to this. For this ability, you 
may place a resource in a square that has a 
villager but not a building. If the resource is still 
there at the end of the round, the villager must 
move as normal.

Innovate: In constructing 
a building, you do not have 
to use resources matching 
the colors on the Building 

card. However, the resources you use must be 
of different colors (no 2 resources of the same 
color) and must correspond to the shape of the 
building layout.

Renovate: If replacing a 
building with a villager working 
in it, that villager will remain 
working in the new building.

Scrap: If you scrap a resource, 
you cannot trigger any abilities 
referring to resources named 
by other players as Master 

Builder. If playing Town Hall, this ability allows 
players not to place the resource drawn by the 
Mayor. If playing the Solo Variant, this ability allows 
the player not to place any of the 3 cards revealed. 
The player should choose 1 of the cards and place it 
on the bottom of the draw pile.

Solicit: Only play with this card 
if playing with the Tiny Towns: 
Fortune™ expansion.

3 : Fill your chest 
with .

Solicit

2 : Construct 
a building using 
resources anywhere 
on your board.

Cooperate

Cut Corners

1 : Construct any 
building with 1 
fewer resource than 
needed.

1 : Place a 
resource of your 
choice in your 
town.

Forage

2 : Construct a 
building with any 
unique resources in 
the correct shape.

Innovate

3 : Replace any 
building in your 
town with any other 
building type. Neither 
building can be .

Renovate

1 : Do not place a 
resource named by 
another player.

Scrap

3 : Fill your chest 
with .

Solicit

Tiny Tears
This mode is only for the most experienced Tiny Towns™ players seeking the 
ultimate challenge! In Tiny Tears, villagers do not grant abilities. Instead, they help 
you place resources on your board.  Tiny Tears can be used in regular Master 
Builder play or with Town Hall or the Solo Variant.

setup 
Give each player 3 villager meeples and a Lodge board, as normal. However, 
players should strategically place their villagers in any 3 different squares on their 
player board.

gameplay 
When a resource is named, it must be placed in a square containing a villager 
on each player’s board. Building construction works as normal. Note: Resources 
named by other players may also be placed on buildings that allow such 
placement, such as Warehouse, Outhouse, and Blacksmith. 

Once all players have placed resources in squares containing villagers, each 
player must remove any villagers in the same square as resources and place them 
on their Lodge board. After all players have had an opportunity to construct 
buildings, each player must place any villagers on their Lodge board in an empty 
square on their player board, if possible. A villager cannot occupy the same 
square as another villager. If there are not enough empty squares, the player may 
place the extra villagers on their Lodge board and try to place them at the end 
of the following round.

If a player does not want to place a resource in 1 of the squares containing a 
villager, they may instead choose to discard a villager to the box for the rest of 
the game and place the resource in any empty square. A player may not choose 
to do this if they only have 1 villager remaining.

When a player places a resource on their board due to any building ability (such 
as Warehouse or Northern Semaphore), they must place it in a square with a villager.
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Building Clarifications
Adjacent always refers to up, down, left, and right, 
not diagonal.  counts as a unique building 
type for Apothecary, Brewery, Cobbler, Grange, 
and Travelers' Center.

Grange 
Multiple Granges can feed    
buildings adjacent to different 
building types. 

Nectar Farm 
If your town has an odd number of 

  buildings, it is not possible to 
feed them with Nectar Farm.

Vegetable Patch 
   buildings adjacent to other    
buildings cannot be fed.

Folly Tower 
Each  constructed must be 
placed on top of your first , no 
matter the location of the building 
layout on your board. At game end, 
if you have the tallest Folly Tower 

in the game, you score 0 . If players are tied for 
the tallest Folly Tower, they all score 0 .

Hearth 
You may not put a villager in a 
building that already has a villager 
working in it. 
 

Outhouse 
If a villager is working in Outhouse 
and a resource is placed on 
Outhouse, the villager does not 
move at the end of the round.

Monastery 
Count the squares in between 
Monastery and the nearest fed   
orthogonally, not diagonally. Do not 
count the squares the Monastery or 
the fed   are on.

Forge 
Squares that contain villagers but 
no buildings are considered to be 
empty. If a   is constructed using 
Forge and placed on a square with 
a villager, the villager must move 

at the end of the round because   was not 
constructed using resources. 

Citadel 
Squares that contain villagers but 
no buildings are considered to be 
empty. If a building is constructed 
using Citadel and placed on a 
square with a villager, the villager 

must move at the end of the round because that 
building was not constructed using resources. It 
is possible to trigger 2 Citadels by constructing 
a building on a square between the 2 Citadels. 
It is also possible to construct the additional 
building triggered by the ability of Citadel 
adjacent to another Citadel, allowing a player 
to construct yet another additional building. 
Resolve any abilities or costs of buildings 
constructed adjacent to Citadel before resolving 
the ability of Citadel. You cannot construct an 

additional  with Citadel.

Post Office 
If a villager is placed in Post Office 
and resources are placed on Post 
Office, the villager does not move 
at the end of the round. A resource 
placed as a result of  Post Office 

cannot be used with another  Post Office  since 
it is not a resource named by another player as 
Master Builder. 
 

Brewery 
 A Brewery must be adjacent to 
at least 3 different building types 
to increase your Brewery score. 
A Brewery adjacent to another 
Brewery counts as a unique building 

type for both Breweries. Any Breweries beyond 4 
that are adjacent to at least 3 unique building types 
do not increase your Brewery score.

 
Travelers’ Center 

Squares that contain villagers but 
no buildings are considered to be 
empty. If a building is constructed 
using Travelers’ Center and placed 
on a square with a villager, the villager 

must move at the end of the round because that 
building was not constructed using resources.

Blacksmith 
To use the resource on Blacksmith 
to construct a building, it must 
be correctly situated in the 
building layout as normal, and 
the constructed building, of 

course, cannot be placed on the same square as 
Blacksmith. If a villager is placed in Blacksmith 
and a resource is placed on Blacksmith, the 
villager does not move at the end of the round. 
You cannot construct a building using resources 
only on Blacksmiths. At least one resource must be 
in an empty square.

  based on the number of  in 
your town adjacent to at least 3 

unique building types.

# 1 2 3 4

3 7 12 18

Brewery

At game end, choose a building 
type (besides ). Feeds all  
buildings that are adjacent to that 
building type.

Grange

1 . +1  for each square between 
 and the nearest fed . 

Monastery

Feeds all  buildings in your 
town if you have an even number 
of  buildings.

Nectar Farm

1 . Holds 1 resource. When 
another player names a resource, 
you may place it on .

Outhouse

2 . If  is constructed with a 
villager working in it, construct 
any building (besides ) in an 
empty square in your town.

Travelers’ 
Center

When constructed, place 2 different 
resources on . When another 
player names either resource, you 
may instead place the other resource, 
gaining it from the supply.

Post Office

1  if there is no resource on . 
 holds 1 resource. When a 

resource is named, you may place it 
on . You may use this resource 
in future building layouts.

Blacksmith

Feeds up to 6  buildings that 
are not adjacent to other  
buildings.

Vegetable Patch

1  per  in your tower, unless 
you have the tallest tower. When 
constructed, if you already have a  

 in your town, place the new  
on top of it. All  in this tower 
are considered to be 1 building.

Folly Tower

When constructed, place 2 different 
resources on . When another 
player names either resource, you may 
construct a  in any empty square  
in your town instead of placing the 
named resource.

Forge

When constructed, you may 
place a villager into any building 
in your town.

Hearth

Monument Clarifications
 Clearfall Quarry 
Squares that contain villagers but no buildings are considered to be empty for the 
purpose of scoring this card. Clearfall Quarry scores 5  only if it is adjacent to an 
empty square at game end, after all remaining resources are removed. 
 
 

Halfmoon Library 
You cannot construct new buildings through any means, including villager  
or building abilities.

Northern Semaphore
The resource must be placed in a square without a building or another resource. It 
may be placed in a square with a villager, but that villager must move at the end of the 
round if the resource is still there. 

Once per round, when you construct 
a building, you may place a resource 
of your choice.

Northern
Semaphore

5  if adjacent to an empty square.

Clearfall Quarry

5 . After constructing, you may 
only contruct building types you 
have at least 1 of in your town.

Halfmoon 
Library

1 . Whenever you construct a 
building type adjacent to this  
that is not already adjacent to this 

, you may immediately construct 
another building of that type in any 
empty square in your town.

Citadel 
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